Bob Marley & The Wailers – Uprising Live! [2CD] (2014)
Reggae, Political Reggae, Roots Reggae, Rocksteady, Ska
MP3 320 kbps / 262 Mb / Full Artwork 300 dpi (jpg) 81 Mb
2014 Eagle Rock / Rockpalast | EAGDV 040

01. Precious World – I Threes
02. Slave Queen – I Threes
03. Steppin’ Out Of Babylon – I Threes
04. That’s The Way Jah Planned It – I Threes
05. Marley Chant
06. Natural Mysti
07. Positive Vibration
08. Revolution
09. I Shot The Sheriff
10. War / No More Trouble
11. Zimbabwe
12. Jamming
13. No Woman, No Cry

01. Zion Train
02. Exodus
03. Redemption Song
04. Could You Be Loved
05. We Can Make It Work
06. Natty Dread
07. Is This Love
08. Get Up, Stand Up
09. Coming In From The Cold
10. Lively Up Yourself

The Uprising Tour ran in Europe from May 30th to July 13th 1980 with five further dates in the USA in September. It was Bob Marley s last tour before his tragically early death in May 1981 at the age of just 36. The tour was in support of the Uprising album released on June 10th 1980. A few days later on June 13th the live show from Dortmund s Westfalenhalle was filmed for the famous German music TV series Rockpalast and is presented here on DVD and CD for the first time with footage restored to the best possible quality. Bob Marley and the Wailers are on superb form and deliver a set of hit singles and classic album tracks. Marley s energetic, charismatic performance gives no indication that he was already ill with the cancer that would take his life less than a year later.

Less than a year after the June 13, 1980 Bob Marley and the Wailers performance recorded and originally broadcast on the German TV program Rockpalast, the king of reggae would succumb to his long fight with cancer. Consequently, the DVD/CD set Uprising Live! that revives this superb showing represents not only Marley and his 10-piece band at its latter-day height, but also the legend’s final tour. At nearly two hours, with 23 songs including four from the I Threes, the collection is a definitive portrait of a resilient Marley valiantly staring down his fate.

Opening with the Wailers band backing the I Threes for a quartet of tracks including Marcia Griffiths’ classic Steppin’ Out of Babylon, it isn’t until the pulsing intro Marley Chant that Marley’s arrival on stage becomes imminent. Perhaps slightly gaunt, there are otherwise no indicators of his waning health. Like a leaf in the grasp of the island breeze, unencumbered he dips and sways to the backbeat of the Barrett brothers; the late Carly on drums and Family Man on bass. There’s a full supply of masterworks in the set, the guitars of Al Anderson and Junior Marvin both present to provide their signatures to No Woman, No Cry and Is This Love, respectively.

Share Button