B.B. King & His Orchestra – B.B. King Wails (Original Album + Bonus Tracks 1959) (2013)

Artist: B.B. King & His Orchestra
Title Of Album: B.B. King Wails (Original Album + Bonus Tracks 1959)
Year Of Release: 1959/2013
Label: Blues Classics/Believe Digital
Genre: Modern Electric Blues, R&B, Jump Blues
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 36:57
Total Size: 86 Mb
Covers: Front

01. Sweet Thing (2:52)
02. I’ve Got Papers On You, Baby (2:19)
03. Tomorrow Is Another Day (2:53)
04. Come By Here (2:13)
05. The Fool (2:38)
06. I Love You So (2:50)
07. The Woman I Love (3:00)
08. We Can’t Make It (2:37)
09. Treat Me Right (2:19)
10. Time To Say Goodbye (2:06)
11. Trouble In Mind (Bonus Track) (2:35)
12. Everyday I Have The Blues (Feat. Count Basie & His Orchstra) (Bonus Track) (5:09)
13. Yes Indeed! (Feat. Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra) (Bonus Track) (3:20)

King’s third album didn’t have any hits or well-known standards of his repertoire, though one of the tracks, «The Woman I Love,» became a small hit after getting overdubbed years later. The influence of big band jazz is actually fairly prominent here, with saxes and trumpet playing a big part in the arrangements. Jump blues like «I’ve Got Papers on You, Baby» and ballads like «The Fool» veer almost as close to jazz as blues with their brassiness, though cuts like «Sweet Thing,» «We Can’t Make It,» and «The Woman I Love» put the slow-burning, guitar-oriented blues for which King is most known closer to the core. Elsewhere King puts shades of gospel («Come by Here») and doo wop («I Love You So») into his brand of polished urban blues. The 2003 CD reissue on Ace adds eight bonus tracks, including previously unissued takes of «You’ve Been an Angel» and «Why I Sing the Blues,» as well as the previously unissued «Yesterday,» which comes close to pop balladry (and is not the same tune as the Beatles song of that name). Also on hand as additional items are some other odds and ends from his Modern label days that were deemed to fit in with the album’s jazzy mood, including a cover of «Trouble in Mind» and collaborations with the Count Basie Orchestra (on «Everyday I Have the Blues») and the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra (on «Yes, Indeed!»). ~Review by Richie Unterberger


Share Button