B.B. King – Greatest Hits (1998)

Artist: B.B. King
Title Of Album: Greatest Hits
Year Of Release: 1998
Label (Catalog#): MCA Records [MCAD-11746]
Country: USA
Genre: Blues, R&B, Soul Blues, Blues Rock
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps
Time: 70:31
Full Size: 234 MB (Scans)

01. Every Day I Have The Blues (Live)
02. Sweet Little Angel (Live)
03. Hot Blue Can You Got?
04. Paying The Cost To Be The Boss
05. Don’t Answer The Door
06. Why I Sing The Blues
07. The Thrill Is Gone
08. I Like To Live The Love
09. Hummingbird
10. To Know You Is To Love You
11. Chains And Thing
12. Better Not Look Down
13. Never Make A Move Too Soon
14. Threr Must Be A Better World Somewhere
15. Playn’ With My Friends (With Robert Cray)
16. When Love Comes To Town (With U2)

by Cub Koda, AMG:
There’s more than one B.B. King best-of out on the racks, but this 1998 issue, Greatest Hits [MCA], updates his chart achievements and puts them together in a modern, 16-track package for both the novice and casual modern blues listener. Kicking off with a pair of tunes from the influential Live at the Regal album («Sweet Little Angel,» «Everyday I Have the Blues»), the set moves through mid- to late-’60s breakthrough hits like «How Blue Can You Get?,» «Paying the Cost to Be the Boss,» «Why I Sing the Blues,» «Don’t Answer the Door,» and his signature tune, «The Thrill Is Gone.» The pop-blues fusions King experimented with in the ’70s and ’80s show up on «To Know You Is to Love You,» «I Like to Live the Love,» and «Hummingbird.» The modern-day end of things is represented by duets with Robert Cray on «Playin’ with My Friends,» and rock group U2 on «When Love Comes to Town.» Although missing all of his early-’50s hits, this is a good buy for the casual fan coming to his music for the first time, and for longtime aficionados looking for a quick-fix update.


Share Button