Steven Isserlis, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra & Paavo Jarvi – Prokofiev & Shostakovich: Cello Concertos (2015)

Artist: Steven Isserlis, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra & Paavo Jarvi
Title Of Album: Prokofiev & Shostakovich: Cello Concertos
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Hyperion
Genre: Classical
Quality: mp3 320 kpbs
Total Time: 65:10 min
Total Size: 154 MB

1. Andante
2. Allegro Giusto
3. Tema: Allegro – Interludio: L’istesso Tempo
4. Variation 1: L’istesso Tempo
5. Variation 2: Vivace
6. Variation 3: Andantino Tranquillo – Interludio II: Tempo I
7. Variation 4: L’istesso Tempo
8. Reminiscenza: Meno Mosso
9. Coda: Poco Più Sostenuto
10. Allegretto
11. Moderato
12. Cadenza
13. Allegro Con Moto
14. March

A thrilling album from Steven Isserlis couples the ground-breaking Prokoev Cello Concerto from the 1930s with Shostakovich’s eruptive response to it written for Rostropovich in 1959. These seminal works mark the cello’s coming of age, enveloping its trademark rhapsodic lyricism in a newly visceral passion.

Paavo Järvi makes his Hyperion debut, conducting an ebullient Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra and providing the ideal foil to Isserlis’s impassioned virtuosity.

Share Button