Kavakos, Wang – Brahms: Violin Sonatas (2014)

Classical | Label: Decca | Catalog Number: 002032902
MP3 320 Kbps CBR | 183 MB | 1 CD | Full Scans

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Scherzo in C minor for violin & piano (from the FAE-Sonata)
1. Allegro 05:40
Violin Sonata No.1 in G major, op.78
2. 1. Vivace ma non troppo 11:11
3. 2. Adagio 07:56
4. 3. Allegro molto moderato 08:34
Violin Sonata No.2 in A major, op.100
5. 1. Allegro amabile 08:29
6. 2. Andante tranquillo – Vivace – Andante – Vivace di più… 06:05
7. 3. Allegretto grazioso (Quasi andante) 05:24
Violin Sonata No.3 in D minor, op.108
8. 1. Allegro 08:!2
9. 2. Adagio 04:44
10. 3. Un poco presto e con sentimento 02:53
11. 4. Presto agitato 05:54
Wiegenlied (Lullaby), Op.49, No.4
12. Wiegenlied, Op.49, No.4 01:39

Leonidas Kavakos, the “exceptional violinist” (Daily Mail) follows his spectacular Brahms Violin Concerto recording by teaming up with star pianist Yuja Wang – “a prodigious talent, with an astonishing technique” (The Guardian) for the great Brahms Violin Sonatas. Leonidas Kavakos’s third release for Decca makes a perfect supplement to his acclaimed Brahms Violin Concerto disc with Chailly.

‘It’s a long time since there was a new version of this concerto as good as this.’ Andrew Clements, The Guardian (October 2013).

‘There is a rapier-like cut-and-thrust about this performance that recalls the surging adrenaline-charge of Isaac Stern in full flight, with Kavakos emerging as the swashbuckling hero of the hour, taking all technical obstacles in his stride with soaring abandonment.‘ Julian Haylock, Sinfini (October 2013).

For the three sonatas Kavakos – an exclusive Decca artist – teams up with Wang, a former Gramophone Young Artist of the Year.

Their partnership at the 2013 Verbier Festival was much talked about (and broadcast on Medici) and they will be touring these works in April to major European cities.

The F-A-E Scherzo which Brahms contributed to a composite sonata (along with his friends Schumann and Dietrich) will be added as a bonus.

The three violin sonatas were written for Brahms’s muse in all matters violin, Joseph Joachim, who also gave the premiere of the Violin Concerto and contributed its cadenzas.

Composer: Johannes Brahms
Performer: Leonidas Kavakos, Yuja Wang


Share Button