Corinne West – Starlight Highway (2015)

Artist: Corinne West
Title Of Album: Starlight Highway
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Folk
Label: Self Produced
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 43:48
Total Size: 109 MB

1. Trouble No More (4:24)
2. Sweet Rains Of Amber (4:31)
3. Give Our Ships Away (3:46)
4. Audrey Turn The Moon (5:30)
5. Cry Of The Echo Drifter (4:12)
6. Gypsy Harbor (3:24)
7. Find Me Here (4:22)
8. Starlight Highway (3:54)
9. Monday’s Song (3:59)
10. Night Falls Away Singing (5:40)

A fourth generation Californian, Corinne West, who now resides in the mighty redwood forests of the state’s coast north of San Francisco, has been described as “the Siren of the Sierras” by the SF Bay Area’s Times Herald. Another reviewer from the North Coast Journal in Arcata, California, declared, “West’s voice invokes angels, if angels had a dangerous side.” Corinne’s powerful and eloquent voice, coupled with the way she forges a song, has earned her a unique identity within the global acoustic roots scene. Relix noted her “voice of gold,” coming at you with honey, velvet-dusk wine and distant sage. Legendary BBC radio DJ Bob Harris proclaimed, “I love Corinne’s music and truly believe in her as an artist. She has spirit, integrity and talent. I am a massive fan.”

The material on West’s latest recording came about after a year-long sabbatical in Austria, which culminated in the new disc. “Starlight is my first completely self-produced record,” West says about the sessions. “I wanted to create a body of songs that moved my music in new directions, while paying tribute to the music I have done in the past. This influenced my decisions regarding the instrumentation; piano, organ, acoustic rock angles, heavy harmonies, the deep-drive of drums, the laid back floating ballads… I wanted to play with many flavors, and I didn’t hold back on using any spices while in the sonic kitchen.”

“The songs for Starlight Highway have taken quite a journey. Many of them were written in 2011, on the heels of my last release, and have been waiting – wherever it is that songs do wait – for a place to land and sing themselves. The songs are decidedly more revealing than others I have released; less dripping in metaphor, more direct and perhaps stark.”

“This is an intimate record, and covers a lot of territory,” adds West, summing up the new album. “I marvel at how deeply personal experiences so often translate into universal and mythic principals. It’s as though there is an invisible blueprint somewhere, continuously showing up in stories and art. My aim with this recording is to communicate a personal emotive glimpse of what we all experience in our own way, on our own roads, as we climb, fly, fall, isolate, believe, reinvent, connect, dream… Though seemingly different, we are all somehow cut from the same cloth.”

“While creating Starlight, I was struck once again by how when music is tight… it all becomes beautifully loose. Everyone on this recording was a gem to work with. It was a high adventure for me to both steer and gently hit cruise-control at times to get just the right synergy, tones and movement the songs were reaching for.”

Share Button