Simple Minds – New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) (1982)
Artist: Simple Minds
Title Of Album: New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
Year Of Release: 1982
Label: Virgin
Genre: New Wave, Pop Rock, Synth-pop
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:46:02
Total Size: 116 Mb

01. Someone Somewhere In Summertime (4:37)
02. Colours Fly And Catherine Wheel (3:49)
03. Promised You A Miracle (4:27)
04. Big Sleep (5:00)
05. Somebody Up There Likes You (5:00)
06. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) (5:39)
07. Glittering Prize (4:33)
08. Hunter And The Hunted (5:55)
09. King Is White And In The Crowd (7:02)

One of Scotland’s finest imports, Simple Minds deliver a strong synth-reared release on New Gold Dream. This album harks the darker side of the band’s musicianship, and such material alludes to their forthcoming pop-stadium sound which hurled them into rock mainstream during the latter part of the ’80s. They were still honing their artistic rowdiness, and Kerr’s pursuing vocals were still hiding. But Simple Minds’ skill of tapping into internal emotion is profound on songs such as «Someone, Somewhere in Summertime» and the album’s title track. But the dance-oriented tracks like «Promised You a Miracle» and «Glittering Prize» are lushly layered in deep electronic beats — it was only a matter of time for Simple Minds to expound upon such musical creativity which made them a household favorite through the 1980s.

Share Button