Club Nouveau – Consciousness (2015)

2015 | Cleopatra Records | R&B, Soul
mp3 320 kbps | 00:52:01 | 119 mb

01. That Ain’t Love
02. Call Yourself a Friend of Mine (feat. Jemezzy)
03. So Happy
04. Love, Peace, Jah & Harmony
05. Come Together (feat. Larry Dunn)
06. I Cry
07. For Your Love (Jordan’s Song)
08. Let’s Have a Party (feat. Chubb Rock) [Grown N’ Sexy Mix]
09. I Wanna Change the World
10. Consciousness (feat. Chuck D & Lee Bailey)
11. Call Yourself a Friend of Mine (Bonus Track) [Alt Breakdown Mix]
12. Let’s Have a Party (Bonus Track) [Shark Club Remix]

Club Nouveau formed in Sacramento in 1986, including Jay King, Denzil Foster, Thomas McElroy, Samuelle Pratter, and Valerie Watson. King was the creative force behind the hit «Rumours» by the Timex Social Club in 1986, and formed King Jay Records for Club Nouveau. They made some good disco-flavored and funk tunes, and had four consecutive hits in 1986 and 1987: «Jealousy,» «Situation #9,» a cover of Bill Withers’ «Lean on Me,» and «Why You Treat Me So Bad.» The last two both reached the number-two spot on the R&B charts. But, in 1988, at the height of their popularity, McElroy, Pratter, and Foster left the group, and were replaced by David Agent and Kevin Irving. Their final recordings for Tommy Boy/Warner Bros. didn’t sustain the momentum, and they subsequently disbanded.

Share Button