Coin – Coin (2015)

Artist: Coin
Title Of Album: Coin
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Columbia
Genre: Indie Pop, Pop-Rock
Quality: mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 64:05 min
Total Size: 146 MB

1. Atlas (3:23)
2. Fingers Crossed (3:31)
3. Time Machine (3:39)
4. I Would (3:09)
5. Run (3:26)
6. Holy Ghost (3:50)
7. Better (3:23)
8. Speaking Voice (3:41)
9. It’s a Trap (3:18)
10. Lately (3:40)

COIN proudly call themselves a «product of the ’90s.» A borrowed nostalgia for the decade that isn’t uncommon among Nashvillians. COIN hasn’t adopted the detached smugness and angst often associated with ’90s alt acts and contemporary ’90s alt revival acts. They are entirely devoid of ironic, tongue-¬-in-¬- cheek rock n’ roll posturing or odes to the joys of slackerdom. Instead, lead singer, keyboardist, and lyricist Chase Lawrence opts for earnest songs about actual human emotions: falling in (and out of) love, worrying about the future, and missing the past. It’s the same brand of wide-¬-eyed sincerity found on Pet Sounds just replace the theremin with a microKORG and the harpsichord with guitarist Joe Memmel’s crisp Telecaster lines.

Their songs are hopeful, but behind the spring reverb and airy synths, there s subtle regret and even morbidity. They ve recently finished writing and recording their debut album in Nashville with producer Jay Joyce (Cage the Elephant, Sleeper Agent, Eric Church, Emmylou Harris, Little Big Town). The forthcoming album is guitar driven and sonically mature, but still true to their synth-¬-pop sensibilities.

Share Button