Andras Schiff – Andras Schiff Plays Franz Schubert (2015)

Artist: Andras Schiff
Album: Andras Schiff Plays Franz Schubert
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: ECM Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 kbps
Format: MP3
Total Time: 02:25:39
Total Size: 333 mb

1. Ungarische Melodie in H-Moll, D. 817 03:32

Sonate in G-Dur, D. 894
2. I. Molto moderato e cantabile 15:51
3. II. Andante 07:11
4. III. Menuett. Allegro moderato – Trio 04:16
5. IV. Allegretto 09:02

Moments musicaux, D. 780
6. I. Moderato 05:32
7. II. Andantino 05:37
8. III. Allegro moderato poco rubato 01:59
9. IV. Moderato 05:05
10. V. Allegro vivace 02:16
11. VI. Allegretto 06:49

12. Allegretto in C-Moll, D. 915 04:56

Vier Impromptus, D. 935
13. I. Allegro moderato 10:43
14. II. Allegretto 05:59
15. III. Andante semplice 11:06
16. IV. Allegro scherzando 06:39

Sonate in B-Dur, D. 960
17. I. Molto moderato 18:34
18. II. Andante Sostenuto 07:49
19. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace con delicatezza – Trio 03:59
20. IV. Allegro ma non troppo – Presto 08:42

András Schiff’s reputation as one of the great interpreters of the work of Franz Schubert is long-established. He has always maintained that Schuberts music is amongst the most moving ever written. Schiff underlined the point on his ECM New Series album with the C Major fantasies at the end of the 1990s, and he does so again on this remarkable recording, on which two Schubert sonatas, the Musical Moments, four Impromptus (D 935), the Hungarian Melody and an Allegretto are addressed on a period instrument, the fortepiano.

András Schiff: My fortepiano was built by Franz Brodmann in Vienna in 1820. It is to me ideally suited to Schuberts keyboard works. There is something quintessentially Viennese in its timbre, its tender mellowness, its melancholic cantabilità. … It is in the quiet and quietest moments when Schubert – like nobody else – touches our hearts.

Share Button