The Blues Brothers – The Blues Brothers Complete [2CD] (1998)

Artist: The Blues Brothers
Title Of Album: The Blues Brothers Complete
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: Atlantic Records
Genre: Modern Electric Blues, R&B, Retro Soul
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbs, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 56:39+61:49
Total Size: 142+143 Mb
Covers: Full

CD 1:
01. Opening/I Can’t Turn You Loose (1:53)
02. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love (3:23)
03. Gimme Some Lovin’ (3:05)
04. Think (3:15)
05. Soul Man (3:05)
06. Soul Finger (1:45)
07. Messin’ With The Kid (2:55)
08. Hey Bartender (2:57)
09. (I Got Every Thing I Need) Almost (2:41)
10. Rubber Biscuit (2:51)
11. Shot Gun Blues (5:22)
12. Groove Me (3:42)
13. I Don’t Know (4:11)
14. ‘B’ Movie Box Car Blues (4:04)
15. Flip Flop And Fly (3:25)
16. She Caught The Katy (4:09)
17. Peter Gunn Theme (3:48)

CD 2:
01. Shake A Tail Feather (2:50)
02. The Old Landmark (2:59)
03. Theme From Rawhide (2:39)
04. Minnie The Moocher (3:24)
05. Sweet Home Chicago (7:53)
06. Jailhouse Rock (3:21)
07. Who’s Making Love (3:32)
08. Do You Love Me (2:54)
09. Guilty (3:40)
10. Perry Mason Theme (2:04)
11. Riot In Cell Block Number Nine (3:32)
12. Green Onions (5:45)
13. I Ain’t Got You (2:44)
14. From The Bottom (3:25)
15. Going Back To Miami (4:03)
16. Expressway To Your Heart (3:25)
17. Excusez Moi Mon Cherie (2:41)
18. Closing: I Can’t Turn You Loose (0:49)

The title of The Blues Brothers Complete pretty much says it all; the double-disc, 35-track collection contains everything Jake and Elwood Blues recorded during the peak of their career. The catch is that the compilation was only released by EastWest/Atlantic’s Australian division, therefore, it’s hard to find outside of Australia. But, for hardcore fans, it’s worth tracking down since it has every track from Briefcase Full of Blues, the soundtrack to The Blues Brothers (including the selections sung by Cab Calloway, James Brown, and Aretha Franklin), and Made in America, plus «I Ain’t Got You,» which was only on The Best of the Blues Brothers, and «From the Bottom,» which was the B-side of the «Soul Man» single. In other words, it’s everything. Some may laugh that anyone would want the complete works of the Blues Brothers who were often considered a joke (especially by blues purists), but in hindsight, these recordings don’t sound bad at all. How could they when Belushi and Aykroyd were backed by a world-class studio band. And, a lot can be said for enthusiasm. No, Belushi wasn’t the greatest vocalist, and neither was his brother, but he had true love and passion for this music, which translates in his performances. The result may not match the original recordings they strove to replicate, but they’re fun and they undoubtedly introduced many listeners to the original artists. Strangely, that’s the reason why they hold up fairly well; they were labors of love and that love is apparent throughout the recordings, from the truly impeccable song selection (they did have good taste) to the enthusiastic performances. ~Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Share Button