Etta James – Hickory Dickory Dock (1998)

Artist: Etta James
Title Of Album: Hickory Dickory Dock
Year Of Release: 1998
Label (Catalog#): Ace Records [CDCHM 680]
Country: USA
Genre: Blues, R&B, Soul, Jazz
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 56:49
Full Size: 313 MB

01. Hickory Dickory Dock [03:03]
02. W-O-M-A-N [02:44]
03. My One And Only [02:27]
04. I’m A Fool [02:27]
05. Strange Things Happening [02:31]
06. Hey Henry [02:54]
07. I Hope You’re Satisfied [03:04]
08. Good Rockin’ Daddy [02:24]
09. Sunshine Of Love [02:27]
10. That’s All [02:16]
11. Call Me A Fool [02:47]
12. Tears Of Joy [02:29]
13. The Pick-Up [02:23]
14. Market Place [02:53]
15. Tough Lover [02:11]
16. Doin’ Something Crazy [03:22]
17. Be My Lovey Dovey [02:03]
18. Nobody Loves You (Like Me) [02:26]
19. You Know What I Mean [03:06]
20. The Wallflower (Dance With Me Henry) [02:58]
21. Every Night [02:21]
22. We’re In Love [01:46]

The singer in her precocious formative years, headed by her 1955 R&B smash «Roll With Me Henry» (aka «The Wallflower»). James’ follow-ups included the driving «Good Rockin’ Daddy,» a bluesy «W-O-M-A-N,» and the New Orleans raveup «Tough Lover,» which found her backed by the gang at Cosimo’s (notably saxman Lee Allen). Even though her tenure at Modern Records only produced a handful of hits, these 22 cuts are delightful artifacts of the belter’s earliest days. The music and liner notes are identical to the previous R&B Dynamite reissue, except that the tracks have been slightly resequenced, and a couple of songs bear different titles («Number One» has been changed to «My One and Only,» «How Big a Fool» to «Call Me a Fool»).

Share Button