Diane Shaw – Love, Life & Strings (2015)

Artist: Diane Shaw
Title Of Album: Love, Life & Strings
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Soul, R&B
Label: Self Produced
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 49:18
Total Size: 113 MB

1. Leave A Little Love (3:39)
2. Never Been Hurt (3:03)
3. These Tears Are Real (3:26)
4. Good Lovin’ Man (3:27)
5. Don’t Promise Me Sunshine (4:59)
6. That Thing You Do (5:11)
7. You Let Him Get Away (3:21)
8. I Go To Pieces (3:39)
9. Today I Started Loving You (3:28)
10. No More Love To Give (3:54)
11. Say A Little Prayer (String Mix) (3:41)
12. I Go To Pieces (String Mix) (3:36)
13. That Thing You Do (Radio Edit) (3:47)

‘Love Life and Strings is an amazing debut album from experienced performer Diane Shaw which recalls the golden age of Soul from the late 60’s- early 70’s featuring real musicians and a string and horn section. Some of the songs are self penned, others are new songs by vintage writers plus there are a few covers. ‘Leave a little love’ is a wonderful dramatic uptempo string laden song arranged by Bert DeCoteaux and Andy Birkenshaw, that could have been made 40+ years ago. ‘Never Been Hurt’ and ‘Today I started loving you’are great 70’s style Modern Soul dancers that really swings. ‘These tears are real’ and ‘No More Love to give’ are Philly style mid tempo ballads, ‘Good Lovin Man’ and ‘I Go To Pieces’ Northern Soul dancers and ‘Thing That you do’ a lovely stepper using ‘Mellow Mellow right on’rhythm. This ambitous and optomistic album has that feel good factor and deserves to be one of the Soul albums of the year.


Share Button