George Freeman & Chico Freeman – All In The Family (2015)

Artist: George Freeman & Chico Freeman
Title Of Album: All In The Family
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Jazz
Label: Southport Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 78:54
Total Size: 189 MB
Covers: Front

01. Dark Blue (George Freeman) (5:47)
02. Interlude V-2 (Chico Freeman) (0:47)
03. Latina Bonita (George Freeman) (5:29)
04. Interlude V-6 (Chico Freeman) (1:08)
05. My Scenery (George Freeman) (4:21)
06. Interlude V-9 (Chico Freeman) (0:47)
07. Five Days In May (Chico Freeman) (4:04)
08. Vonski (George Freeman) (6:15)
09. Interlude V-8 (Chico Freeman) (1:43)
10. Inner Orchestrations (Chico Freeman) (6:43)
11. Percussion Song Two (Reto Weber) (1:00)
12. Chico (George Freeman) (7:54)
13. Interlude V-5 (George Freeman) (1:40)
14. What’s In Between (Chico Freeman) (7:46)
15. Essence Of Silence (George Freeman) (7:54)
16. Interlude V-4 (Chico Freeman) (1:24)
17. A Distinction Without A Difference (Chico Freeman) (4:43)
18. Interlude V-10 (George Freeman) (1:31)
19. Angel Eyes (Chico Freeman) (3:45)
20. Percussion Song One (Reto Weber) (0:28)
21. Marko (George Freeman) (2:35)
22. Chico & George Introductions (George Freeman) (1:01)

«All In The Family» brings together two members of Chicago’s Freeman family that have never been recorded together until now: legendary guitarist George Freeman (who celebrated his 88th birthday on April 10th, 2015) and world-renowned saxophonist Chico Freeman (George’s nephew and Von Freeman’s son.) The musical legacy of Chicago’s Freeman Family continues on with «All in the Family.» Certainly, the late, great leader of the family, tenor saxophonist Von Freeman is smiling somewhere today!

All of the tracks are original songs (with the exception of the haunting «Angel Eyes») and feature compositions from George Freeman «My Scenery» & «Vonski»; and from Chico Freeman «Latina Bonita» & «Essence of Silence»; along with several short Improvisations, that provide a compelling flow to the recording. «Five Days in May» features percussionist Reto Weber on the ‘hang’ – a track that should have everyone up and dancing with joy!

A lifetime of music, from playing with Charlie Parker to Gene Ammons and his many fine recordings, George Freeman was recently selected as Chicagoan of the Year in Jazz by Tribune Arts Critic Howard Reich! Chico Freeman’s career has taken him from his early years with Chicago’s AACM to Earth, Wind and Fire to performing and recording with legendary musicians in New York, including Elvin Jones, to today’s International Jazz Festivals.

Musicians featured on the recording are: Kirk Brown, piano; Harrison Bankhead, bass; Hamid Drake, drums; Mike Allemana, guitar; Joe Jenkins, drums; and special guest Reto Weber, hang and percussion.

Recorded in September of 2014 at Sparrow Sound Design Recording Studio, Chicago. Produced by Joanie Pallatto & Bradley Parker-Sparrow. Recording Engineer is Todd A. Carter. Mastered by Joanie & Sparrow. Liner Notes by Neil Tesser. Graphic Design by Al Brandtner.

Share Button