Grice – Alexandrine (2015)

Artist: Grice
Title Of Album: Alexandrine
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Hungersleep Records
Genre: Art Rock, Progressive Rock
Format: Mp3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 57:31 min
Total Size: 133 mb

01. Alexandrine (7:16)
02. She’s In My Garden (3:45)
03. Eclipse (6:25)
04. Flaw 1 (Fracture) (0:58)
05. Leftside (3:59)
06. The Magic Of Changing Colours (2:15)
07. 12 Syllables (5:55)
08. Flaw 2 (Silica) (2:52)
09. Incomplete (6:05)
10. Frozen Water (9:40)
11. Clear, Conscious & Free (4:30)
12. Flaw 3 (Fractal) (3:44)

London-born, Art Rock musician GRICE returns with his second album Alexandrine, which builds on his highly-regarded debut album Propeller. His music has been described as ‘a challenging cocktail of electro-acoustic glitch, art-rock and avant-pop synthesis tempered into passionate and well-crafted songs.’

With GRICE taking centre-stage on guitars and vocals, Alexandrine features sonic innovator Richard Barbieri (Porcupine Tree, originally from UK electro pioneers Japan) on keyboards and as co-producer on a numbers of tracks. The 12-track album was mixed by Steve Jansen (Japan/Rain Tree Crow) who also lends his unique percussive input, tonalities and treatments to the work.
Alexandrine includes performances from a unique line-up, including Hossam Ramzy (Led Zeppelin/Peter Gabriel) on percussion, Italian freeform trumpet player Luca Calabrese, BJ Cole on pedal-steel guitar (Felt/T-Rex), Suzanne Barbieri (vocals) and violinist Steve Bingham (No-Man). The core band comprises of Al Swainger on bass, double bass and pedals and 05Ric (Gavin Harrison) on drums.
‘Alexandrine is a multi-faceted rare gem, an intricate play of changing colours and unique rhythms diffracted by GRICE’S passionate vocals and powerful songwriting.’
‘Through sonic musical sculpture, instrumental eclecticism and Proustian detail, Alexandrine entices the listener to embark on a voyage through continents and cultures.
Alexandrine arouses celluloid fantasies and narrates a kaleidoscope of emotions.’

Share Button