B.B. King – My Kind of Blues 1960 [Expanded Remastered Edition] (2003)

Artist: B.B. King
Title Of Album: My Kind of Blues [Expanded Remastered Edition]
Year Of Release: 2003 (1960)
Label (Catalog#): Ace [CDCHM 881]
Country: USA
Genre: Electric Blues, Soul-Blues, Early R&B
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:00:16
Full Size: 271 MB

01. You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now (05:15)
02. Mr Pawn Broker (03:15)
03. Understand (02:40)
04. Someday Baby (02:54)
05. Driving Wheel (02:52)
06. Walking Dr. Bill (03:42)
07. My Own Fault, Baby (03:34)
08. Cat Fish Blues (Fishin’ After Me) (02:33)
09. Hold That Train (03:59)
10. Please Set The Date (02:52)

Bonus tracks:
11. Sunny Road (02:57)
12. Running Wild (02:19)
13. Blues At Sunrise (03:00)
14. Drifting Blues (03:15)
15. Somebody Done Changed The Lock On My Door (02:46)
16. Looking The World Over (03:23)
17. Walking Dr. Bill (overdubbed) (03:44)
18. Hold That Train (alt – take 1) (05:05)

Review by Al Campbell:
My Kind of Blues was originally released in late 1960 on the budget label Crown. On this session, B.B. King dropped the smooth big band sound of his previous release, B.B. King Wails, to an instrumentally stripped-down unit of bass, drums, piano, and, of course, his beloved guitar Lucille. This date took one day to record and is said to be one of King’s personal favorites. Any of B.B. King’s early Crown releases are essential, and considering that the 2003 Ace reissues feature previously unissued bonus tracks and midline pricing, these are the ones to grab. According to the liner notes, these bonus tracks are included for being «small combo tracks that continue the traditional blues theme, and allow plenty of space for B.B.’s guitar.» Unfortunately, recording dates for these aren’t given, but they do include five previously unissued tracks from his Modern sessions, as well as an undubbed version of «Looking the World Over»; an overdubbed version of «Walking Dr. Bill»; and a previously unissued take of «Hold That Train.»


Share Button