Escher String Quartet – Mendelssohn: String Quartets Nos. 1 & 4 (2015)

Artist: Escher String Quartet
Title Of Album: Mendelssohn: String Quartets Nos. 1 & 4
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: BIS
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 KBPS
Total Time: 80:04 min
Total Size: 183 MB

Quartet No.1 in E flat major, Op.12, MWV R25 (1829)

01. I. Adagio non troppo – Allegro non tardante (7:37)
02. II. Canzonetta. Allegretto (3:50)
03. III. Andante espressivo (4:59)
04. IV. Molto allegro e vivace (8:33)

Quartet in E flat major, MWV R18 (1823)

05. I. Allegro moderato (9:37)
06. II. Adagio non troppo (6:09)
07. III. Minuetto. Trio (7:09)
08. IV. Fuga (4:36)

Quartet No.4 in E minor, Op.44 No.2, MWV R26 (1837)

09. I. Allegro assai appassionato (10:09)
10. II. Scherzo. Allegro di molto (3:57)
11. III. Andante (6:16)
12. IV. Presto agitato (7:18)

With their début disc on BIS, the Eschers launch a three-disc cycle of Mendelssohn’s string quartets, including the unnumbered String Quartet in E flat major and on coming instalments the four pieces for string quartet Op. 81. The quartet genre accompanied Mendelssohn throughout his life, from the previously mentioned E flat major quartet which he composed at the age of 14 to String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, his last major work, completed only two months before his death in 1847. As a body of work, the quartets demonstrate many of Mendelssohn’s finest qualities as a composer his fascination for and understanding of the music of both Bach and Beethoven, his affinity for string instruments, and that gift for melody as well as texture which has made his Lieder ohne Worte and the elfin music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream so eternally popular. Composed in 1829, the Quartet Op. 12 is still an early work from the time of the Hebrides Overture while the E minor quartet, Op. 44 No. 2, can be counted as one of the first master-pieces by the mature composer.

Share Button