EZTV – Calling Out (2015)

Artist: EZTV
Title Of Album: Calling Out
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Captured Tracks
Genre: Indie Rock, Powerpop
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 44:32 min
Total Size: 102 MB

01. Bury Your Heart
02. Pretty Torn Up
03. The Light
04. Hard to Believe
05. Everything Was Changing
06. Soft Tension
07. Dust In The Sky
08. Blue Buzz
09. Trampoline
10. There Goes My Girl
11. Long Way To Go
12. That’s Where You Belong
13. Calling Out (Bonus Track)
14. White Cloud (Bonus Track)

It wouldn’t be entirely accurate to say that EZTV met while trying out for J. Spaceman’s latest US touring line-up of Spiritualized, but it’s not far from the truth. Songwriter Ezra Tenenbaum had been casually working on solo home recordings in the vein of Shoes, Emitt Rhodes and Cleaners For Venus, and, in a desire to round things out, he enlisted bassist Shane O’Connell and drummer Michael Stasiak (formerly of Widowspeak). As it happened, the trio’s first chance to play together was an audition for the American touring version of Spiritualized (they didn’t get the job). But, the trio kept meeting and working, turning Ezra recording as a solo artist into Ezra, Shane and Michael playing as a band; thus, EZTV was formed. With Jarvis Taveniere (Woods) onboard to produce, the band headed to Thump Studios in Brooklyn to record their debut LP. The result is Calling Out, a cohesive 12-song statement in the long tradition of fully realized debuts, stripped of artifice, but full of hooks and songwriting chops. With one foot firmly planted in classic American power-pop and college rock while the other utilizes more left-of-the-dial sonic experimentation, the result is a sound that’s both familiar and new, but always about the songs.


Share Button