1436688743 front

Polyphony & Stephen Layton – American Polyphony (2015)

Artist: Polyphony & Stephen Layton
Title Of Album: American Polyphony
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Hyperion
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 73:59 min
Total Size: 170 MB

1. Randall Thompson: Alleluia
2. Samuel Barber: Agnus Dei
3. Samuel Barber: Reincarnations – Mary Hynes She is the sky of the sun
4. Samuel Barber: Reincarnations – Anthony O’Daly Since your limbs were laid out
5. Samuel Barber: Reincarnations – The coolin’ Come with me, under my coat
6. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Kyrie
7. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Gloria
8. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Sanctus
9. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Benedictus
10. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Agnus Dei
11. Leonard Bernstein: Missa brevis – Dona nobis pacem Agnus Dei
12. Aaron Copland: Four Motets – Help us, O Lord
13. Aaron Copland: Four Motets – Thou, O Jehovah, abideth forever
14. Aaron Copland: Four Motets – Have mercy on us, O my Lord
15. Aaron Copland: Four Motets – Sing ye praises to our king
16. Samuel Barber: Twelfth Night – No night could be darker than this night (No.1 of Two Pieces, Op.42)
17. Samuel Barber: To be sung on the water – Beautiful, my delight (No.2 of Two Pieces, Op.42)
18. Samuel Barber: A nun takes the veil ‘Heaven-haven’ – I have desired to go (No.1 of Four Songs, Op.13)
19. Samuel Barber: The virgin martyrs – Therefore come they, the crowding maidens (No.1 of Two Choruses, Op.8)
20. Samuel Barber: Let down the bars, O death (No.2 of Two Choruses, Op.8)
21. Randall Thompson: Fare Well – When I lie where shades of darkness

Polyphony and Stephen Layton present highlights from the choral repertoire by four twentieth-century American giants: Samuel Barber, Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland and Randall Thompson. Framed by Thompson’s understated favorites Alleluia and Fare Well, the program includes Bernstein’s Missa brevis, motets by Copland and -of course – Barber’s inimitable Agnus Dei.


Share Button