1437139677 front

Membranes – Dark Matter/Dark Energy (2015)

Artist: Membranes
Title Of Album: Dark Matter/Dark Energy
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Cherry Red
Genre: Post-Punk, Noise Rock
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 68:02 min
Total Size: 156 MB
WebSite: Album Preview

1. The Universe Explodes into a Billion Photons of Pure White Light (5:19)
2. Do the Supernova (4:04)
3. 21st Century Man (2:20)
4. Money Is Dust (7:43)
5. The Multiverse Suite (2:37)
6. Space Junk (3:07)
7. Dark Matter (5:51)
8. If You Enter the Arena, Be Prepared to Deal with the Lions (3:35)
9. In the Graveyard (8:52)
10. Hail to the Lovers (2:02)
11. Magic Eye (To See the Sky) (6:05)
12. 5776 (The Breathing Song) (3:19)
13. Dark Energy (6:23)
14. The Hum of the Universe (6:50)

Fronted by charismatic singer John Robb, the Membranes formed in the wake of Punk in Blackpool in 1977. Membranes made a huge impact on the post-punk scene of the 1980s, with John Robb also establishing himself as a music journalist of note. John Peel was a huge supporter and bands as disparate as Mercury Rev, My Bloody Valentine and Big Black have cited them as an influence. After Membranes folded, John returned to the stage with Sensurround and most notably Goldblade, before rekindling Membranes a few years ago. Dark Matter/Dark Energy is the first Membranes album since 1989. It’s awash with their off-kilter mix of angular post-punk adventure, Krautrock-ish soundscapes and edginess. The album is inspired by a conversation with Joe Incandela, the head of the CERN project about the Higgs Boson particle (Joe is on one of the tracks). It’s all about the life and death of the universe; during recording, John Robb’s father died and the album is also about him. The album is preceded by a Record Store Day 7 of the musical juggernaut that is Do The Supernova.


Share Button