1437343749 front

Tete Montoliu Trio – El Gran Señor from Catalonia [2CD] (1995)

Artist: Tete Montoliu Trio
Title Of Album: El Gran Senor from Catalonia
Year Of Release: 1995
Label(Catalog#): SteepleChase [SCCD37007/8]
Genre: Jazz, Hard Bop
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 2:02:11
Total Size: 289 MB

1. D & E
2. Ladybird
3. Jo Vull Que M’Acariciis
4. Autumn In New York
5. Blue Bossa
6. Theme

1. I Remember April
2. El Neu Carrer
3. A Child Is Born
4. Tune Up
5. Willow Weep For Me
6. Steeplechase
7. My Old Flame
8. Doxy
Tete Montoliu Trio – El Gran Senor from Catalonia (1995)

personnel :

This two-CD set complies two May 1980 concerts by the Tete Montoliu Trio originally released separately as Catalonian Nights, Vol. 1 and Catalonian Nights, Vol. 2. With bassist John Heard and drummer Tootie Heath, the blind pianist is in top form on the first date, particularly on the extended workout of Milt Jackson’s blues «D & E,» a turbo charged «Ladybird,» and pulsing «Blue Bossa.» The second concert kicks into high gear immediately with an inspired treatment of «I’ll Remember April,» followed by a brief solo interpretation of the lovely ballad «A Child is Born» that is used to segue into a waltzing trio version of Miles Davis’ «Tune Up» and lengthy excursions into «Willow Weep for Me» and «My Old Flame.» This enjoyable pair of live dates is easily recommended to fans of hard bop


Share Button