1439207132 front

Elizabeth Watts, Scottish Chamber Orchestra & Christian Baldini – Mozart: Opera Arias and Overtures (2015)

Artist: Elizabeth Watts, Scottish Chamber Orchestra & Christian Baldini
Title Of Album: Mozart: Opera Arias and Overtures
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Linn Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 62:13 min
Total Size: 143 MB

1. Le nozze di Figaro: Overture
2. Le nozze di Figaro: Giunse alfin – Deh vieni non tardar
3. Idomeneo: Overture
4. Idomeneo: Quanti mi siete intorno – Padre, germani, addio!
5. Don Giovanni: Overture
6. Don Giovanni: Batti, batti
7. Don Giovanni: Vedrai, carino
8. La clemenza di Tito: Overture
9. La clemenza di Tito: S’altro che lacrime
10. La finta giardiniera: Overture
11. La finta giardiniera: Appena mi vedon
12. Così fan tutte: Overture
13. Così fan tutte: Ei parte – Per pietà

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra has established impeccable Mozartian credentials with its award-winning discography, to which Mozart: Opera Arias and Overtures is the latest addition.

The SCO’s previous forays into operatic repertoire (Handel with soprano Emma Bell and Mozart, Haydn & Cimarosa with baritone William Berger) have been highly critically acclaimed.

This recording features a hand-picked selection of arias from six of Mozart’s much-loved operas, alongside their respective overtures.

The SCO’s affinity with Mozart’s music is demonstrated with perfect eighteenth-century style in the overtures; whilst the arias see the orchestra lend characterful support.

Award-winning soprano Elizabeth Watts has performed in Don Giovanni at Covent Garden, Così fan tutte for Glyndebourne on Tour and Le nozze di Figaro for Santa Fe Opera and Welsh National Opera; she utilises her experience to create memorable performances.

A love of Mozart inspired conductor Christian Baldini to make music his career so it is fitting that his recording debut with the SCO features repertoire that is so close to his heart.


Share Button