Rebecca Kilgore with the Harry Allen Quartet – I Like Men (2014)

Artist: Rebecca Kilgore with the Harry Allen Quartet
Title Of Album: I Like Men
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Arbors Records Inc
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 71:02 Min
Total Size: 171 Mb

1. I Like Men/I’m Just Wild About Harry
2. The Gentleman Is a Dope
3. The Boy Next Door
4. An Occasional Man
5. Goldfinger
6. Ballad of the Sad Young Men
7. The Man I Love
8. For Every Man There’s a Woman
9. Marry the Man Today
10. He Needs Me
11. He’s a Tramp
12. He’s My Guy
13. Down Boy
14. One Man Ain’t Quite Enough
15. The Man That Got Away

As an interpreter of classic American popular songs from the 1930s and 1940s, vocalist and guitarist Rebecca Kilgore helped revive the hits of yesterday for modern-era jazz audiences. Born in Waltham, MA, in 1949, she relocated to Portland, OR, at the age of 30, beginning her music career fronting an area swing band dubbed the Wholly Cats and recording a 1982 LP titled Doggin’ Around. Following the group’s 1984 breakup, she formed her own unit, the Rebecca Kilgore Quintet, which quickly emerged as a mainstay of the Northwest jazz scene, and in 1989, she released the cassette-only I Hear Music. Most of Kilgore’s subsequent recordings were in conjunction with other performers: In 1990, she teamed with John Miller for Put on a Happy Face, and in 1993 appeared with Portland’s Tall Jazz Trio on their Plays Winter Jazz disc. However, Kilgore’s most fruitful collaborations were in conjunction with pianist Dave Frishberg; after teaming for 1993’s Looking at You, they reunited a year later for I Saw Stars, followed in 1997 by Not a Care in the World and again in 2001 with The Starlit Hour. At the same time, Kilgore also fronted a ’60s-style country band, Beck-a-Roo, and in 1994 contributed vocals to the score of the CBS animated special Tales From the Far Side, inspired by the popular Gary Larson comic strip.

Adrian von Ziegler – The Celtic Collection II (2014)

Artist: Adrian von Ziegler
Title Of Album: The Celtic Collection II
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Self Producer
Genre: Celtic Folk, New Age
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 72:17 min
Total Size: 167 MB

01 – Wolf Blood
02 – Ancient Storm
03 – Fear No Darkness
04 – Once Upon a Time
05 – Dreamtide
06 – Kingdom of Bards
07 – Home of Heroes
08 – Part of the Pack
09 – Hail to the King
10 – Alvae
11 – Queen of the Gaels
12 – Morrígan
13 – Sacred Earth
14 – Hymn to Annûmara
15 – Druidic Dreams
16 – Bua Nó Bás
17 – Victorious
18 – Journey’s End

The new collection of the greatest Celtic songs – from relaxing and emotional soundtracks to epic and powerful themes.

Tara Kamangar – East of Melancholy (2014)

Artist: Tara Kamangar
Title Of Album: East of Melancholy
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Delos
Genre: Classical
Total Time: 60:45 min

Mikhail Glinka (1804-1857) (arr. M. Balakirev)
1. A Farewell to St. Petersburg: No. 10. Zhavoronok (The Lark) 05:09
Aminollah Hossein (1905-1983)
2. Prelude No. 1 ‘Homage to Omar Khayyam’ 06:11
Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978) (arr. M. Cameron for piano)
3. Spartacus: Adagio 07:49
Aminollah Hossein (1905-1983) (arr. D. Hakimova for piano)
4. Caravan 02:27
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): 24 Preludes, Op. 34
5. No. 10 in C-Sharp Minor 01:53
6. No. 12. in G-Sharp Minor 01:15
Aminollah Hossein (1905-1983): Persian Miniatures, Op. 25
7. No. 1. Solitude 03:46
8. No. 2. Call of the Desert 01:05
9. No. 3. Call of Remembrance 01:31
10. No. 4. Invitation to the Spell 02:11
Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
11. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: No. 12 in G-Sharp Minor: Allegro 02:38
Aminollah Hossein (1905-1983): Mosaics Suite, Op. 19
12. I. Scenes from Summer 04:41
13. II. Serenade Tartare 06:32
Tara Kamangar
14. Piano Etude, ‘East of Melancholy’ 02:37
Loris Tjeknavorian (1937-): Fantastic Dances, Op. 2
15. No. 1. Festive Dance 02:05
16. No. 2. Lyrical Dance 02:29
17. No. 3. Dance of Elegy 03:55
18. No. 4. Dance of Ecstasy 02:42

Russia’s centuries-old geographic proximity to Muslim regions – historically regarded as part of the “orient” – has resulted in considerable cultural and artistic cross-fertilization, particularly in the realm of music. Most Russian composers during (and since) the Romantic era have thus incorporated elements of what one could call “oriental exoticism” into their compositions. Captivating pianist Tara Kamangar – an American of Iranian descent – has made it her musical mission to explore such musical connections, specifically as they apply to the traditions of Iran and Russia. In this, Tara’s first album for Delos, we hear illustrative examples in works by Glinka, Rachmaninoff, Shostakovich and Khachaturian.
But her emphasis here is on the music of two fascinating 20th-Century Iranian composers whose work remains virtually unknown in the West: Aminollah Hossein and Loris Tjeknavorian.
Tara’s virtuosity and flair for the musical traditions of her Iranian forbears combine to bring these works to thrilling and idiomatically true life.

MP3 / 320 kbps / 139 MB

FLAC / Lossless / 165 MB

Dan Gibson – Dolphin Dreams (2006)

Artist: Dan Gibson
Title Of Album: Pachelbel: Dolphin Dreams
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Solitudes
Genre: New Age, Relax, Nature
Quality: WAVPack(Tracks, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 00:51:06 min
Total Size: 524 mb

1 Adventurous Spirit 4:31
2 By The Grace Of The Sea 4:20
3 Mystic Blue 5:33
4 In Their Gentle Presence 6:25
5 Cerulean Secrets 6:18
6 Dolphin Dreams 6:39
7 Angels Of The Reef 5:50
8 Carefree 6:06
9 Swept Away In Wonder 5:25

Share Button