Artist: Jenny Lysander
Title Of Album: Northern Folk
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Beating Drum
Genre: Folk
Quality: MP3 320 KBPS
Total Time: 42:50 min
Total Size: 101 MB

01. A Painter’s Brush (3:22)
02. Giving Thanks (3:26)
03. Dancing On The Edge (3:25)
04. Blackbird (3:57)
05. Northern Folk (3:18)
06. Arms Wide To The Sky (3:24)
07. Lavender Philosophy (2:33)
08. Under The Willow Tree (3:25)
09. This Boat (4:24)
10. Jag Målade Fan På Väggen (3:41)
11. Mind Me (4:17)
12. Were We Both Lions (3:38)

There’s a certain sound – one that I’d describe as “pastoral folk”, without ever being certain of what that means – that has always struck me as quintessentially English. Jenny Lysander’s debut album is one that ticks many of those boxes: sparse arrangements, ageless vocals, even a song called “Lavender Philosophy”, which is about as pastoral as it gets without involving grazing animals. To immerse oneself, dreamily, in Northern Folk is to feel as you did the first time you heard Laura Marling and wonder how one so young could create something so wise and so timeless (at 21, Lysander is just a little older than Marling was when she released her debut). And yet Lysander takes her inspiration from her native Stockholm, making her about as quintessentially English as I am.

Origen: Jenny Lysander – Northern Folk (2015)

Share Button