Artist: Bluey
Title Of Album: Life Between The Notes
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Jazz, R&B, Soul, Funk
Label: Dome Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 57:22
Total Size: 135 MB

01. Dance To My Drums (1:32)
02. Life Between The Notes (5:11)
03. Hold On (5:23)
04. Saints And Sinners (4:49)
05. Trippin’ On This Feelin’ (4:24)
06. I’ve Got A Weakness For Your Love (4:33)
07. Tomorrow Never Lies (4:49)
08. Columbus Avenue (4:55)
09. Caught Up In The Grey (3:57)
10. Been There Before (4:05)
11. More Than Getting By (3:06)
12. The Poetry Of Life (4:46)
13. Sunships On The Shores Of Mars (5:47)

“This second solo album has a jazz undertow that has taken me in some new directions and may surprise some folks out there”. So says Bluey of his new Dome album “Life Between The Notes” Having waited more than 30 years to record his debut solo set – 2013’s “Leap of Faith” – INCOGNITO’s driving force Jean-Paul ‘BLUEY’ Maunick enjoyed the experience so much that he went back into the studio to record what is a very impressive second solo release. Very rarely featured as a vocalist on the band’s albums, Bluey displays an assured vocal performance on a wide range of songs – from the disco flavour of “Hold On” and the dancefloor-friendly title track (Says Bluey: “I quote my record collection…the songs that have fanned the flame of this long musical journey”) to the funky falsetto of “I’ve Got A Weakness For Your Love” and the jazzy “Saints and Sinners” and “Columbus Avenue”. Much of the album is co-produced and co-written with one of his long standing collaborators Richard Bull, while other co-producers include Ski Oakenfull, Incognito’s Matt Cooper and Dan Goldman (JD 73) The new album shows a real development for Bluey, especially with his venture into more jazz-leaning vocal material and the percussive jazz of “Trippin’ On This Feelin’”. Of the album’s closing track “Sunships On The Shores of Mars”, he says: “This is the deepest adventure I’ve allowed myself to take into the world of jazz. Graham Harvey at the piano, Richard Bull on drums, percussion, bass and guitar, create the sound of an intimate quartet that allows me to croon like I’ve never crooned before. Now that was fun! This may be the beginning of something new…”

Origen: Bluey – Life Between The Notes (2015)

Share Button