Another Fine Day – A Good Place to Be (2015)

Artist: Another Fine Day
Title Of Album: A Good Place to Be
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Interchill Records Music
Genre: Ambient, Downtempo
Quality: MP3 320 KBPS
Total Time: 59:54 min
Total Size: 137 MB

01. Nature Boy (4:58)
02. And Dream of Seals (6:19)
03. Child’s Play (4:48)
04. Spanish Blues (5:23)
05. Naiad (6:10)
06. Enfolded (4:15)
07. I Can Hear Your Heart (6:21)
08. That Path (3:46)
09. Dusty Feet (4:11)
10. From Tiny Acorns (5:09)
11. Andy Woz Here (5:40)
12. A Good Place to Be (2:54)

With his project Another Fine Day, Tom Green explores the deeper end of the fields of dub, jazz, African and classical piano music. Twenty one years after the release of his cult hit LP ‘Life Before Land’ (voted third in The Independent’s chart of ‘Greatest Ambient Albums’), and fifteen years after his Six Degrees release ‘Salvage’, he’s created a new album to which brings his first love, the piano, to the fore.

Wrapping gentle jazz stylings in a glistening mix of mbira, percussion, field recordings, and just about anything else that takes his fancy, ‘A Good Place to Be’ creates an environment which can be settled in to and absorbed. Intelligently atmospheric throughout, this release is instrumental electronica, but also jazz, with more than a hint of both minimalism and classical elements.

Track by track, the pieces blend organically into a dreamlike flow with a dynamic mix and subtle mastering. This is an album that bears repeated listens, and as the title suggests, it is ‘A Good Place to Be’.

Share Button