Mikhaïl Rudy & Jeff Mills – When Time Splits (2015)

Artist: Mikhaïl Rudy & Jeff Mills
Title Of Album: When Time Splits
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Axis / AXCD-047
Genre: Experimental, Modern Classical, Ambient, Jazz
Quality: MP3 320 KBPS
Total Time: 51:37 min
Total Size: 118 MB

01 – Landscape Abstracts
02 – Face Verses Face
03 – Time Mechanic
04 – Scream
05 – Black And White
06 – Promising Calm
07 – The Eternal Burning Beauty Of Fire
08 – Impossible Love
09 – Psychedelic
10 – Wagner Encounter

Jeff Mills has always tried to do things differently, but few could have foreseen his collaboration with classical pianist Mikhail Rudy. Back in February, the two men joined forces to write, and subsequently perform, a soundtrack for Henri-Georges Clouzot’s unfinished 1964 film L’Enfer. When Time Splits is a recording of that performance, with Rudy providing evocative piano motifs and thoughtful solos, accompanied by typically spacey, sci-fi inspired electronics from the Detroit maestro. At times it’s willfully discordant, at others immensely beautiful. Throughout, it remains a fascinating study in combining the worlds of modern classical, jazz, ambient and experimental electronics.


Share Button