Frank Black & The Catholics – The Complete Recordings [7CD BoxSet] (2015)

Artist: Frank Black & The Catholics
Title Of Album: The Complete Recordings
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Cooking Vinyl / COOKCD610
Genre: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock
Quality: mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 07:17:20
Total Size: 0.97 GB

Disc One (Al-Co)

1. All My Ghosts
2. Angst
3. Are You Headed My Way?
4. Back to Rome
5. Bad Harmony
6. Bartholomew
7. Belle Isle
8. The Big Hurt
9. Billy Radcliffe
10. Black Letter Day
11. The Black Rider (Rock Version)
12. The Black Rider (Surf Version)
13. Blast Off
14. Blizzard 1989
15. Bullet
16. California Bound
17. Changing of the Guards (unreleased)
18. Changing of the Guards
19. Chip Away Boy
20. Coastline

Disc Two (Co-Ho)

1. Cold Heart of Stone
2. Constant Sorrow Man
3. A Dab’ll Do Ya
4. Do Nothing
5. Do You Feel Bad About It?
6. Dog Gone
7. Dog in the Sand
8. Don’t Clip Your Wings
9. Down in the Hole
10. End of Miles
11. End of Miles (unreleased)
12. Everything Is New
13. The Farewell Bend
14. Fields of Marigold
15. Goodbye Lorraine
16. Heloise
17. Hermaphroditos (Is My Name)
18. His Kingly Cave
19. Horrible Day
20. How You Went So Far

Disc Three (Hu-Ki)

1. Humboldt County Massacre (version 1, unreleased)
2. Humboldt County Massacre (version 2)
3. Humboldt County Massacre (version 3)
4. I Gotta Move
5. I Love Your Brain
6. I Need Peace
7. I Switched You
8. I Think I’m Starting to Lose It
9. I Want Rock & Roll
10. I Will Run After You
11. I Will Run After You (unreleased)
12. I’ll Be Blue
13. I’m Going Down
14. I’ve Seen Your Picture
15. If It Takes All Night
16. Jaina Blues
17. Jane the Queen of Love
18. Jet Black River
19. John the Revelator (unreleased)
20. King & Queen of Siam

Disc Four (Le-Sc)

1. Le Cigar Volante
2. Living On Soul
3. Living On Soul
4. Llano Del Rio
5. Ludwigshaffen
6. The Man Who Was Too Loud
7. Manitoba
8. Massif Centrale
9. Modern Age
10. My Favorite Kiss
11. Nadine
12. Nadine
13. New House of the Pope
14. Out of State
15. Pan American Highway
16. Pray for the Girls
17. Preacher’s Daughter
18. Robert Onion
19. San Antonio, TX
20. The Scene

Disc Five (Se-Su)

1. Selkie Bride (unreleased)
2. Selkie Bride (instrumental version, unreleased)
3. Show Me Your Tears
4. Song of the Shrimp (unreleased)
5. Sister Isabelle (unreleased)
6. Six-sixty-six
7. Skeleton Man
8. Sleep
9. Smoke Up
10. The Snake
11. Snake Oil
12. So Hard to Make Things Out
13. So. Bay
14. Solid Gold
15. Some Things (I Can’t Get Used To)
16. Southbound Bevy
17. St. Francis Dam Disaster
18. Steak ‘N’ Sabre
19. Stupid Me
20. Suffering

Disc Six (Su-18)

1. Sunday Sunny Mill Valley Groove Day (unreleased)
2. The Swimmer
3. Take What You Want
4. This Old Heartache
5. Tiny Heart
6. True Blue
7. Valentine and Garuda
8. Valley of Our Hope
9. Velvety
10. Western Star
11. When Will Happiness Find Me Again?
12. Whiskey in Your Shoes
13. Whiskey in Your Shoes (unreleased)
14. You’re Such a Wire
15. 21 Reasons
16. 85 Weeks
17. 1826
18. 1826 (unreleased)

Disc Seven

True Blue – demos for Black Letter Days
song info by Ben Mumphrey, from disc liner notes

1. Black Letter Day (Frank Black plays a rare lead guitar solo; with Ben Mize and Dave Philips)
2. California Bound (epic Lyle Workman guitar solos; Nick Vincent on drums; with Dave Philips, Greg V. on bass, Eric Schermerhorn on rhythm electric guitar, and Frank Black strumming acoustic)
3. Chip Away Boy (with Ben Mize and Dave Philips)
4. Cold Heart of Stone (Haunting song with Eric Drew Feldman, Colleen Browne, and Dave Philips)
5. How You Went So Far (superb lead guitar playing by Dave Philips; Eric Drew Feldman plays piano, Colleen Browne bass, with Frank Black on electric guitar; drummer unknown)
6. Jane the Queen of Love (Dave Philips on lead guitar, Frank strumming acoustic, Eric Drew Feldman on keys, Colleen Browne on bass)
7. Jet Black River (a lovely Frank and Dave Philips guitar duo)
8. Southbound Bevy (another lovely Frank/Dave acoustic/pedal steel duo)
9. The End of Miles (a most excellent version of this song; Dave and Frank)
10. The Farewell Bend (with Tommy Stinson on bass, Nick Vincent on drums, Frank on guitar, and Eric Schermerhorn on slide guitar)
11. Valentine and Garuda (the definitive version, with Lyle Workman on lead guitar, Justin Medal-Johnson on bass, Dave Philips, Brian MacCleod, and Frank strumming acoustic)
12. Whispering Weeds (a small electronic Indian drum box Frank had shown up with to the studio, and Frank Black)

On March 23rd Frank Black And The Catholics release the complete recordings box set on Cooking Vinyl. The 7 CD box features all of the band’s 6 studio albums plus a bonus cd entitled True Blue which is made up of recordings from the Black Letter Days album sessions. All six formally released albums (self-titled [1998], Pistolero [1999], Dog in the Sand [2001], Black Letter Days [2002], Devil’s Workshop [2002] & Show Me Your Tears [2003]) have been re-mastered from the original live 2-track and 1-track recordings. The release contains well over a hundred songs. True Blue is a disc of “technical demos” that Ben Mumphrey (who engineered all of the mobile recordings) found in his New Orleans recording archive.

The box set will have the songs in alphabetical order as Black Francis AKA Frank Black explains the alphabetisation ‘It feels like an approximation of randomness and its a way to randomise something, especially if its titles.” he goes onto say by placing the songs this way ‘we get away from the preciousness of LPs we put out and its more about the body of work, the good times that we had’. True Blue: “These Songs were recorded with the intention of being demos, to be sent to the Catholics band to learn before they traveled to Los Angeles to record the album Black Letter Days.

Share Button