Allison Crowe – Sylvan Hour (2015)

Artist: Allison Crowe
Title Of Album: Sylvan Hour
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Pop Rock, Folk Rock
Label: Rubenesque Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 56:36
Total Size: 133 MB
Covers: Front

01. Darling Be Home Soon (SH) (5:13)
02. Effortless (SH) (4:32)
03. A Case Of You (SH) (5:03)
04. There Is (SH) (3:06)
05. Phoenix (SH) (4:29)
06. Running (SH) (5:29)
07. This Little Bird (SH) (3:24)
08. Skeletons And Spirits (SH) (2:52)
09. These Words (SH) (4:16)
10. I Never Loved A Man (SH) (The Way I Love You) (3:50)
11. Silence (SH) (6:10)
12. Now (SH) (4:42)
13. Circular Reasoning (SH) (3:24)

Recorded live in a log-cabin in the Canadian wilderness during a cross-country journey, Allison Crowe’s new album, Sylvan Hour, may be her best yet. The private, one-hour performance at a friend’s home in 2006 includes raw, solo takes of songs that would be re-recorded in group sessions for This Little Bird. The recording was lost for nearly a decade and was rediscovered this winter. What a find it was! Allison’s extraordinary voice is in its purest state accompanied only by guitar and piano.

From the opening cover of The Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Darling, Be Home Soon” to originals like “Effortless” and the fierce rendition of Aretha Franklin’s “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You),” Allison’s vocal prowess and control is on astonishing display.

Among the album’s many standout tracks are “Phoenix,” “These Words” and “Skeletons & Spirits.” These “stripped down” versions are even more powerful and clear than their This Little Bird counterparts.

Allison’s supernaturally agile and exquisite voice is especially stunning, even shocking, as she bends and stretches every note in the haunting, truly chill-producing ballad “Silence.”

The music seems to rise from deep with her chest, sometimes ripping out of her throat in full roar, other times being restrained and shaped with the skill of a master sculptor. Sylvan Hour is truly a masterpiece.

Share Button