V.A. Putumayo Presents: Celtic Café (2015)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Putumayo Presents: Celtic Café
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Putumayo World Music
Genre: Folk, World, Celtic
Format: Flac
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 38:30 Min
Total Size: 230 Mb

01 – Michael McGoldrick – Waterbound
02 – Dougie MacLean – Are Ye Sleepin’ Maggie
03 – Capercaillie – Him Bò
04 – The Baileys – Star of the County Down
05 – Cara Dillon – The Parting Glass
06 – Mànran – An Eala Bhàn
07 – Finbar Furey – School Days Over
08 – Old Blind Dogs – Braw Sailin’
09 – Calum Stewart – Looking at a Rainbow Through a Dirty Window
10 – Battlefield Band – Tramps & Hawkers

Putumayo’s world music collections are often an uneven affair of tasteful folk-inspired cuts with a unique regional flair and misguided marriages of factory drum loops and traditional instruments. Their 2015 compilation, Celtic Café, is no different, offering up ten tracks from the British Isles with a relaxed coffeehouse vibe that split the difference between inviting and slightly aggravating. Opening track «Waterbound,» by Ireland’s Michael McGoldrick, sets a warm, easy tone, as does Scottish folk stalwart Dougie MacLean’s rendition of «Are Ye Sleepin’ Maggie,» but Capercaillie’s folk-funk fusion dud «Him Bò» is the album’s low point. Fortunately, the rest of Celtic Café is filled with some very nice trad-flavored folk songwriting (Finbar Furey’s «School Days Over») and familiar-sounding, if somewhat unremarkable instrumental fare.


Share Button