Joanna Pascale – Wildflower (2015)

Artist: Joanna Pascale
Title Of Album: Wildflower
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Jazz Vocals
Label: Stiletto Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 61:35
Total Size: 148 MB
Covers: Front

01. Forget Me (6:14)
02. Lament (4:14)
03. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow (5:50)
04. Stay With Me (4:48)
05. Do It Again (8:14)
06. Wildflower (4:16)
07. Overjoyed (5:58)
08. I Wanna Be Loved (6:46)
09. Drown In My Own Tears (6:24)
10. I Remember You (4:56)
11. I’m Confessin’ (That I Love You) (3:49)

Whether referring to the lesser-known repertoire to which she’s drawn or to the singer herself, nurtured in the concrete jungle of her native Philadelphia, Wildflower is the ideal title for Pascale’s captivating new album. Supported by an excellent band led by the session’s producer, pianist Orrin Evans, and a host of special guests including Christian McBride, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Gregoire Maret, Bilal, and Cyrus Chestnut, Pascale finally comes into full bloom, a wildflower whose beauty is emerging into the sunlight.

The recording of Wildflower coincided with the end of Pascale’s decade-long engagement at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel, which allowed her to hone her voice, style, and vast repertoire. But leaving that long-running gig also provided a newfound freedom to follow a more personal path, which she embraces on her fourth album. Each song on Wildflower is one with which Pascale feels a deep emotional connection, which shines through in the passionate feeling she conveys to the listener. “If I don’t connect with a lyric, I can’t sing the song,” she says. “I love to dig into the words and find all the different shades, the stories within the story, and then try to interpret that.”

But equally important for her approach to breathing life into this material is Pascale’s interaction with her musicians. “For me,” she says, “it’s the space between the words that tells the story. I love that these musicians allowed so much space for me to paint these pictures. It allowed me to get very intimate with the phrasing of the lyrics. The fun in storytelling is finding a way of phrasing so that the listener connects to your intention and all the ways you feel the subtle shades of the emotions in the story.”

Propelled by the deep, sinuous groove laid down by Evans, McBride, and drummer Donald Edwards, “Forget Me” immediately establishes that connection via Pascale’s intimate, impassioned delivery. It’s followed by the tender J.J. Johnson ballad “Lament,” featuring an original lyric penned for Pascale by Tony Haywood, which features Edwards and bassist Luques Curtis. Most of the album features bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Obed Calvaire, who luxuriate in creating space while maintaining momentum on tracks like “I Remember You” and “Stay With Me.”

Share Button